Joint Faculty

  • Walter Allen

    Distinguished Professor of Education, Sociology, and African American Studies

    Subfield: Higher Education, sociology of education, comparative race and ethnicity ; social inequality; comparative family studies.

    Contact Information

    Email    wallen@ucla.edu
    Office  Moore Hall 3101A-1
    Phone  310-206-7107
  • Ronald Andersen

    Wasserman Professor Emeritus

    Subfield: Health Services Research, Medical Sociology, Evaluation and Policy Research

    Contact Information

    Email    randerse@ucla.edu
    Office  CHS 61 293
    Phone  3102061810
  • Francis (Perry) Anderson

    Professor Emeritus

    Subfield: Europe

    Contact Information

    Email    n/a
    Office  6265 Bunche Hall
    Phone  310-825-4601
  • Amada Armenta

    Associate Professor

    Contact Information

    Email    armenta@luskin.ucla.edu
    Office  5355 Public Affairs
    Phone 
  • Hiram Beltran-Sanchez

    Associate Professor

    Contact Information

    Email    beltrans@ucla.edu
    Office  41-257A CHS
    Phone  x52433
  • Philippe Bourgois

    Distinguished Professor-in-Residence

    Subfield: Social inequality, violence, substance abuse, incarceration, ethnic segregation and conflict, urban anthropology, HIV, homelessness, US inner-city, Central America and the Caribbean

    Contact Information

    Email    bourgois@ucla.edu
    Office  B7-435, Semel Institute
    Phone  310-267-4267
  • Michael Goldstein

    Professor Emeritus

    Subfield: Medical sociology, alternative medicine, professions.

    Contact Information

    Email    msgoldst@ucla.edu
    Office  21-261 CHS
    Phone  55116
  • Laura E Gómez

    Professor

    Subfield: Latinas/os; Chicana/o studies; sociology of law; historical sociology; critical race theory.

    Contact Information

    Email    gomez@law.ucla.edu
    Office  Law School 3218
    Phone  (310) 267-4964
  • Jasmine D. Hill

    Assistant Professor

    Contact Information

    Email    jhill@luskin.ucla.edu
    Office  6359 Public Affairs
    Phone  59865
  • Zeynep K. Korkman

    Assistant Professor

    Contact Information

    Email    korkman@g.ucla.edu
    Office  1120 Rolfe Hall
    Phone  (310)206-8101
  • Aaron Panofsky

    Associate Professor

    Subfield: History, Information Technology, Politics, Race and Ethnicity, Social Movements/Labor Unions

    Contact Information

    Email    apanofsky@ucla.edu
    Office  6355 Public Affairs
    Phone  310-825-0462
  • Anne Pebley

    Professor

    Subfield:

    Contact Information

    Email    pebley@ucla.edu
    Office  41-257 CHS 4284B PAB
    Phone  310-825-5308
  • Meredith Phillips

    Associate Professor

    Subfield:

    Contact Information

    Email    meredith.phillips@ucla.edu
    Office  6323 PPB
    Phone  310-794-5475
  • Olav J. Sorenson

    Professor

    Contact Information

    Email    olav.sorenson@anderson.ucla.edu
    Office  F-403a Mullin Management Commons, Anderson
    Phone  (310)267-4182
  • Katherine Stone

    Professor Emeritus

    Subfield: Professor Katherine Stone is a leading expert in labor and employment law in the United States. She was awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship Award in 2008 and a Russell Sage Fellowship for 2008-2009 for her work on the changing nature of employment and the regulatory implications. Her recent book, Rethinking Workplace Regulation: Beyond the Standard Contract Of Employment (Katherine V.W. Stone and Harry Arthurs) (Russell Sage Foundation, 2013) described changes in employment laws to address the changing nature of employment in ten industrial countries.

    Contact Information

    Email    stone@law.ucla.edu
    Office  405 Hilgard Ave,
    Phone  58202
  • Sherod Thaxton

    Professor

    Subfield: Criminology/Delinquency; Sociology of Law; Statistics and Quantitative Methods

    Contact Information

    Email    Thaxton@law.ucla.edu
    Office  Law 3435
    Phone  310-794-8663
  • Christopher Tilly

    Professor

    Subfield: Subfield: Labor sociology, Social movements, Economic sociology, Organizations, Political sociology

    Contact Information

    Email    tilly@ucla.edu
    Office  3250 Public Affairs Bldg.
    Phone  310-206-7150
  • Chris Zepeda-Millan

    Associate Professor

    Subfield: Social Movements, Immigration, Latinx Politics, Labor

    Contact Information

    Email    czm@ucla.edu
    Office  6383 Public Affairs Bldg
    Phone